the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Practice Picture

3 Comments

Practice Picture by jaklumen & family
Practice Picture, a photo by jaklumen & family on Flickr.

Taking another break from the retrospective posts to promote some more of my daughter’s artwork.

This isn’t specifically related to the Hero’s Journey that I can immediately think of, but Princess here is self-taught, instructing herself quite a bit from some of Cimmorene’s art books. She draws in the manga style that is pretty common with the new generation of artists.

I’m including her own written description, as follows:

Via Flickr:
This isn’t my best work, because my circle is kind of mishapen, but I thought, "It’s a practice pic, it doesn’t have to be perfect." so, I drew a background based on a field trip I took once, in the woods with my class-mates, and we often walked on a dirt pathway, and the river in the front is just randomly there, it wasn’t in the scene, but the one in the back was actually real. The trees were also origionally cherry blossoms, but I decided to have them be regular oaks instead of cherrys, because I didn’t know how to draw cherry blosoms just yet. Yeah, I’m a little weird like that, I like my practice drawings to be at least half as good as my not practice drawings, but that’s just me. I haven’t drew in a while, so this is a little old.

Description by Princess
Drawn by Princess

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

3 thoughts on “Practice Picture

  1. Hi! TJ here! I loved seeing this and your own description is perfect, Princess.

    I’m self-taught myself and my own perfectionism held me back for a long time. When I look back at it now, I wonder why I did this to myself. Art will never be completely perfect, it will be perfect for that moment in time. Your skills will always grow. Also, I really love reading your thought process for this. It makes your piece come to life even more! 🙂

    Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply