the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

[WIP] Return with Elixir, Rick Belden is Iron Man

Leave a comment

Nerve pain… excruciating nerve pain…

I just haven’t had the energy or wherewithal to write a full post.

What’s under the hood right now:

  1. My father saw the razor cuts on my forearm… all about sharing with my father what I’m learning about survivorship, recovery from abuse, and so on.
  2. Mother’s Day, my mother retired from Social Security, and my daughter had a birthday.
  3. Rick Belden shared some posts about Iron Man on Twitter that IMMEDIATELY caught my attention.  The first one was a review of the 2008 movie with Robert Downey, Jr. and the second one was an essay of why he had been drawn to the character of Iron Man in Marvel Comics as a boy.

Rick Belden’s treatise of Iron Man seemed especially apt as he references Monomyth stages to the plot of the movie: the wasteland, the wound, and the cave.  He also references “confronting the false father”, which I remember being mentioned mostly in feminist treatises on Monomyth stories featuring women heroes (the Heroine’s Journey, if you will).  It has shown up in other contemporary works featuring male heroes.  I recognized it in the Equilibrium series of posts here, specifically: Final Fight: Confronting the Powerless Father and Atonement with the Mother.

In short, just as John Preston had to face Vice Counsel Dupont as the political figurehead known as “Father”, so also Tony Stark had to face Obadiah Stane.

Cover of Iron Man Family Outing. All rights reserved to Rick Belden

Belden, of course, explains that his inspiration was the basis for his first book, Iron Man Family Outing : Poems About Transition Into A More Conscious Manhood.  Also not surprisingly, the Masculinity-Movies site is connected to Robert Bly’s Iron John: A Book About Men, or at least by way of Robert Moore and Doug Gilette’s King, Warrior, Magician, Lover: Rediscovering the Archetypes of the Mature Masculine.  (TL;DR: Jungian archetypes.)

 

 

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

