the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Fixing the X-Arcade Dual Joystick

Leave a comment

Maybe this might not be considered as worthy as fixing up my home, but I repaired a Dual Joystick I bought used yesterday. It turns out the motherboard had gone bad, and I had to use the mobo and the serial&PS/2 cable patch from an kit I was going to use to upgrade my HanaHo HotRod joystick.

The controller now works BETTER than my HanaHo ever did, and now I have USB support.

Why do I think it’s worthwhile? My daughter still remembers that I set up arcade emulation to stop her from feeding tokens to the “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2: Turtles In Time” cab that used to be at our local Chuck E. Cheese’s. We played it all the way through today.

Shredder taunts the Turtles after Krang steals...

We can play this at home! From left, clockwise: Princess, jak, Cimmy, Boy, and Unknown Dude as Splinter. (No we haven’t gotten a 4-player setup working yet, actually.)

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

