the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

I’m autistic and normal…REALLY???

Leave a comment

Tuesday Kenneth touched on the topic of autism– which is important to me, as my son, nephew, and niece all have it– and I see how it all affects them differently. His opinion of neurodiversity, so to speak, reminds me of many I saw at The Icarus Project– it is a view that does not get much attention (but should get more).

Culture Monk

DSC09103

By Kenneth Justice

~ What is normal?

At coffee recently I met with a young mother of a 12 year old boy. Her son is autistic and she’s been instructed by her son’s teacher to enroll her child in special classes to help him deal with his autism, “I guess I just don’t really understand why it’s necessary because I think my son is awesome! I feel like the problem isn’t my son; the problem is people who expect every child to act the same” she said

Let’s be honest, in Western Culture the people who tend to rise to the top of the pack are the extroverted and outgoing; those with charisma and charm. Do you want to be President of the United States; then be charming like John F. Kennedy and you’ll beat your opponent.

For those people who weren’t born with a natural proclivity towards…

View original post 598 more words

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

