the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

[WIP] A Hero’s Journey: Superman

Leave a comment

The abyss of pain calls for regrouping, rebuilding.  As I bite down, trying to fight through the agony, I remember that I did not give a complete picture of how the Monomyth applies to probably one of the greatest mythical heroes of the modern age (especially as Richard Donner tells it):

Superman light

Superman light (Photo credit: Valerie Everett)

SUPERMAN

It is personal.

I took on this pain, so my father would have the will to live, to even become my father in the first place.  (See

The son becomes the father…

and

…the father becomes the son.

for the personal connections)

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

