the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Monday Monster Mashup Makes the Call to Adventure

Leave a comment

Monday Monster Mashup will never EVER die.
A full series on how Hot Rod takes the Hero’s Journey to become Rodimus Prime, in Transformers: The Movie (based on the Transformers G1 animated series) will be coming soon.

jak & Cimmy's Journal Jar

It’s probably not Monday anymore where you are… eh… I am way too behind on this feature, and it’s still Monday here.  So, here we go.

This video has been featured on the Monday Monster Mashup before, but I’m bringing it back to expand a little more on how Transformers: the Movie (no, not the crappy Michael Bay one, the animated 1987 version!) follows the Monomyth, specifically, how Hot Rod followed the Hero’s Journey and became Rodimus Prime.

Vega Sailor (VegaSailor at YouTube) used clips from Transformers: the Movie and combined them with audio from the trailer to Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.

Although I am choosing to highlight the Transformers side compared to the Lord of the Rings trilogy (because that is often mentioned in writings referring to Joseph Campbell and his book The Hero With A Thousand Faces), I wish…

View original post 147 more words

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

