the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

It’s about letting things go…

Leave a comment

Letting things go is part of the Hero’s Journey. Whether it is looking to the epic Outer Journey, towards the ultimate Ordeal (Death and the Abyss), or towards the more everyday Inner Journey, towards a Big Change (with feelings of life and death). it is part of the cycle.

Joseph Campbell said, “The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek.” I believe that letting go must be the key, to face fear, death, the unknown, to reach the Reward. Whether it is the Outer seizing the sword/treasure, or the Inner accepting the consequences (for good and bad) of new life, the goal is the same.

Culture Monk

its about letting things go

by Kenneth Justice

~Yesterday at a coffee an older single friend asked me, “Are there any relationships out there that really work? It seems like every time I observe a married couple or two people who have been dating for a while….nobody seems really all that happy” he said

Perhaps part of the problem is that a lot of people in Western Culture are generally miserable as a matter of fact; life didn’t turn out the way they wanted so many men and women simply aren’t too cheerful when it comes to their relationship.

However, years ago I asked one of my dearest morning-coffee friend’s (who died at the age of 85 in 2012) “What’s the secret to your marriage? You and your wife have been married for nearly fifty years!” I asked.

He took a sip of coffee and he answered in once sentence, “Well…

View original post 649 more words

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

