the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Roll call

8 Comments

If you’ve followed me since VOX, dear readers, you might remember my “Roll Call” posts.  I can’t remember if they were all titled “Roll Call”, but… that is what I will call them now.

I’m overdue for one of them.  No, it’s not where I ask “Hey, if you’re lurking, comment!”  Instead, since I’m doing a lot of commenting lately, and not so much posting of my own here.  I’ve been overwhelmed with life, and it’s been harder to get my creative juices going for Monomyth subjects.  Yet I realized I could share what blogs I’ve been following and the discussions I’ve been engaged in at those blogs.

It’s not a comprehensive list, so I hope you won’t be offended if I don’t list your blog!

Aussa Lorens is HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.  I admit that this blog is a guilty pleasure of sorts, as it’s about equal parts dishy, dark humor, and comic disaster.  What drew me in was her thoughts on working in the psych ward, and I have first-hand experience as a patient.  Sometimes, you’ve just got to tell it like it is!  Also, she seems like a lot of red-haired women I know: memorable, personable, and NEVER dull.

Hessiafae’s blog: Aspienation is the musings of a woman concerning her dealings with Asperger’s syndrome, both in herself, and her husband, and also about other aspects of her life.  Asperger’s is now referenced by autism spectrum disorder.  I have a son with autism, so I appreciate her feedback, as well as thoughts on being an imporvished, but well-educated parent.

Rarasaur is a WordPress superstar, having been featured Freshly Pressed a number of times.  I am not sure how to sum up her awesomeness, but her contributions to geek culture is a nice start.

Consider the ways of SingingTuna: R is an old friend from the VOX blogging platform.

My kids are not yet teenagers, but C.C., a.k.a. Bizigal, has given me a lot of insight and wisdom concerning their special needs, especially in regards to their schooling.

I met Steph Rogers by way of a guest post at Rara’s blog, concerning Australian lingo.  She writes about parenthood, gay identity, and Catholic upbringing at her blog She Said What?  We have talked a lot about acceptance and people just being people: in regards to my own orientation (and my wife’s), we have experienced some of these issues, too.

Kenneth Justice is The Culture Monk.  He writes about Christianity from a perspective of social equality, compared to the perspective of harsh moral authority he has encountered.  He often notes that his musings are enhanced by a cup of coffee.  I have felt much freer to discuss religious issues at his blog– I have been reluctant previously as I have met so many that have been bitten by aforementioned attitudes of moral authority.

Christie Tate is Outlaw Mama and writes about her adventures in law school and in parenting.  I am sure there is a little bit of talk about her job now, but hey, I’m sure you all understand that moms like to talk about their kids.  As a dedicated disabled SAHD myself, that’s fine by me.  We’ve shared plenty a chuckle.

Wow.  I’m tired now, and I’m not done yet.  I will put up a Part 2 Roll Call soon!

 

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

8 thoughts on “Roll call

  1. Thanks for the shout out! It has been great to meet you and I have loved all the discussions that are unfolding out in cyber-land. Cheers to new friends *raises glass*

    Like

  2. I forgive you, this once, for not mentioning me…

    Like

  3. Roll Call… I thought this would be about my old gym teacher telling us to do somersaults. I’m glad it was something much more sensible… : )

    Like

  4. Oh, my gosh…I nearly fainted when I saw my name there. Thank you for thinking of me.
    🙂

    Like

  5. ya know I read this post of yours awhile back and I really appreciated your mentioning me…but more specifically I was impressed with the way you described my writing; I’ve been looking for a way to describe my subject material for a long time and have never been able to come up with a good description and your paragraph beats everything I’ve been able to think up….so if you’re cool with it I’m going to quote your description on my site (but I’ll give you credit for it fo’ sho’)…..

    Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

