the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

1 Comment

My son is on the autism spectrum- no formal diagnosis yet, but the school evalutions suggest he is high-functioning, perhaps on the threshhold of Asperger’s. I am not sure if I have any similar sort of neurology (although I was mercilessly teased about being a “little professor”– a mindset sometimes associated with Asperger’s). I am “mentally ill”, though, with a diagnosis of bipolar mood disorder.

I continue to be dismayed how the press and society continue to frame social debates by struggles of control, and how they use mental illness to marginalize. There is no real talk about reforming mental health care. I do not say that lightly! I got the treatment I desired, but I fought with a lot of putzes, schmucks, and a broken system to get it.

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

One thought on “

  1. Changes need to be made.
    There are people who believe that our basic instincts lie beneath our reactions to those who are “different.” The truth is, I think, that we’re all different. It’s just more obvious in some people than others. And there are sooooo many definitions of “different.”

    Humanity is slow to change. It’s sad and frustrating.

    Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

