the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Windmaggedon

7 Comments

Aeolos have mercy. Boreas and Notos are slugging it out in the Pacific Northwest, particularly in the Columbia Basin.

Is it all Greek to you? It should be! Boreas and Notos are two of the ancient Greek mythological four winds, North and South, respectively, and Aeolos is the overlord of the winds.

But if something more scientific and analytical is your style, check out this excerpt from a High Wind Warning from the National Weather Service for our area:

High Wind Warning

…STRONG WINDS EXPECTED OVER PORTIONS OF NORTHEAST OREGON AND
SOUTHEAST WASHINGTON LATER TONIGHT AND SATURDAY…

* WINDS: SUSTAINED SOUTHWEST TO WEST WINDS OF 35 TO 45 MPH WITH
GUSTS MAINLY BETWEEN 50 AND 60 MPH WITH LOCALIZED GUSTS
EXCEEDING 70 MPH.

* IMPACTS: LOOSE OBJECTS MAY BECOME AIRBORNE. LARGE TREE LIMBS
MAY BREAK AND TREES ROOTED IN WATER SATURATED SOILS MAY
TOPPLE. TRAVEL MAY BECOME DIFFICULT…ESPECIALLY FOR THOSE
IN HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES MOTORISTS SHOULD USE CAUTION AND BE
PREPARED FOR SUDDEN WIND GUSTS. LOCAL BLOWING DUST COULD
REDUCE VISIBILITIES TO LESS THAN A QUARTER OF A MILE AT
TIMES.

The NOAA has a nice spiffy slide presentation for our local advisories, too.

The outer shingles of the south side of our roof are being torn off. I can hear the wind howling hard, right now. Would it fade my masculinity and inner toughness too much if I said I was a little terrified?

Oh, and this has been going on for about a week or so– fierce wind storms punctuated by rain. There are two things in a weather pattern that will bring me to my knees, to the point of writhing in agony: humidity, and cold temperatures. Now imagine both fluctuating.

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

7 thoughts on “Windmaggedon

  1. Same down here. I’m guessing you also live in a valley on a flat plain. I don’t see roofing shingles in the backyard—yet—but at one point the heavy garbage cart on the side of our house got blown onto its side, and of course this had to be the time Dad put all of the old newspapers outside for recycling. [Rolls eyes.] We had blossoms on the plum and peach trees in our yard from the unusually warm weather, but they’ve been all knocked down. It’s really sad.

    Hope you guys are safe. As long as you stay off the high roads and you don’t have one of those high-profile SUVs, you should be good.

    Like

    • I’m guessing you also live in a valley on a flat plain.

      Not quite, although close. The Greater Columbia Basin is usually described as a brush steppe. We are flanked by a number of hills, which are now dotted with wind turbines. The Horse Heaven Hills in particular are closest, which stretch towards Prosser.

      The Yakima Valley is one region westward, and it is a little more flat.

      Because of these hills, winds are often very gusty, which sometimes frustrates me when I am kite flying. I agree with the late kitemaker Margaret Greger that this is delta country– the delta kite design is very efficient and doesn’t immediately drop out of the sky when the winds subside. (I have blogged about meetings with her husband Greg.)

      As long as you stay off the high roads and you don’t have one of those high-profile SUVs, you should be good.

      Right you are. Our vehicle is a 4-door Honda Civic and we don’t plan on going out very much today. Aside from a funeral for a friend of mine and a church lady dinner… we don’t really have anywhere to go.

      Like

  2. Ugh! We’re having a high wind advisory in Boston, too. The wind blew down one of our gutters and it’s lying on the front lawn. I’ve been listening to it HOWL all day. Unbelievable.

    I called my parents in Buffalo, NY and they’re experiencing the same type of weather.

    Like

  3. I hope there was not too much damage to your roof and it isn’t expensive to get repaired.

    How is the weather now?

    Our non-winter is still plugging right along. The mosquitoes, fleas, spiders and all other bugs are going to have population explosions before too much longer. We’ve already had mosquito hawks in the house. We’ve only had a handful of nights that got down below freezing. While good for the heating bill it scares me to think that our summer will be hotter and longer and we all know how much I love hot. (NOT!!!)

    I’m ready for something along the lines of ‘normal’ weather.

    Like

    • I will be taking a picture soon to show the damage. I don’t know how much it will cost… none of us are physically able to climb the roof and fix it ourselves.

      The weather? Very slowly tapering off, but still alternating wind and light rainfall. Boreas and Notos aren’t done yet. And yes, I hear you that the South is just hot. ‘Tis how ’tis… I hope you’ll manage a way to survive yet again.

      Like

      • As long as I have air conditioning I will survive. I won’t like it and I will probably bore people to death with my whining and complaining, but I will survive. 🙂

        I hope you are able to find an inexpensive, but good, repairman to help you get your roof fixed asap.

        (Wonder why I tried typing ‘innocent’ instead of ‘inexpensive’ not just once, or twice, but THREE times?)

        Like

      • Freudian slip, most likely, i.e. your brain is focusing on the concept of innocent.

        Are you innocent?

        It snowed last night, so I am not sure how soon the roof can be fixed. It is melting, but… no, no one shall come to my house save immediate family, for now.

        Boy is now sick.

        Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

