the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Excruciating pain

2 Comments

Thunder cracked and boomed through the sky here about an hour ago, back at the apartment. Whenever there is a jump in the humidity on a cold front, I can feel it. It just rips through my muscles and down to the screws in my spine.

Joint pain, I think. It’s not nerve pain that I can tell. That is much more agonizing, I assure you.

We have the keys. Memorial Day was gorgeous, although the wind was on the fierce side that Monday morning. Lots of sunshine.

More work, actually. Repair on the fence in the morning. Started to pull some weeds– Princess helped me. I was so pleased. We brought some of the kids’ toys to each of their rooms.

We went to Fred’s Appliance and got the ball rolling on a dishwasher and a garbage disposal. That took a number of trips because we didn’t know they’d be on Sunday hours. I also wasn’t able to show Cimmy until my grandfather had left for the cemetery. Yes, you see, he’s paying for it. And, being a Marine, he needed to go do his thing on a holiday such as it was. But we got it sorted. We got it sorted even though I jolted awake from a long nap an hour before closing.

We had dinner at my parents’ house. My father had been reluctant, but my mother was surprisingly quite gracious. Actually, Dad didn’t mind too much as I got to be the one grilling up the sausages and hot dogs. I was glad to, not just to be cooking, but also that we were able to have one very square meal that day. Lunch was spaghetti, you see… we are slowly running out of food and won’t have anything more for about 3 days. Well, I take that back. Mom had bought some milk coming near to expiration (we’ll guzzle it before it can go bad) and gave us some leftover salad.

But we are plodding forward. There is still so much to do. So much in just getting the house ready. But we are taking it bit by bit.

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

2 thoughts on “Excruciating pain

  1. Sounds like you had a very busy, exhausting holiday.

    Sorry to hear you’re still having so much pain.

    Like

  2. I hope I NEVER have to move again. It’s taken almost three years to completely move in this place and get everything here. We had stuff in storage in Georgia that we just recently got back out and stuff at different peoples houses that I didn’t want in the storage shed. I have one more thing left to get, a picture that my mother crocheted that has been at my sisters’ house for over three years now. I feel for you. Bad weather makes me hurt anymore too. I used to think that people were crazy when they said that, but I know better now.

    Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

