the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

TP vs. WP

4 Comments

Well, if the last post is any indication, I’m leaning more towards WordPress.

But this blog will probably remain very, very obscure.  It will remain for those that honestly do care what’s going on in my life.

I have promoted TechsWrite to the VOX Diaspora, and, as I just successfully imported the VOX Journal Jar group with the help of my lovely wife, I am promoting that as well.

I don’t know what to do at TP.  Mostly on my TP export, I am trash-talking 6A and moaning about how jacked things are.  I was going to make the Monday Monster Mashup group a blog of its own, but I think we are just limited to one blog at TP.

Blah blah blah… depressing, isn’t it?  I’ve got to figure out how to start writing about fun stuff again.  I will, but I’ll likely need to get away from TP so I stop swearing about 6A.

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

4 thoughts on “TP vs. WP

  1. We are not limited to just one blog at TypePad, actually. I just made one to check it out. It’s sort of like having a sub-domain, from how it looks to me. But man, I really need to go to bed! http://liliales.typepad.com/that_funny_feeling/

    If that place ever tanks, I’ll be prepared, have everything archived. But then I’d maybe move it all back to Blogger. A lot of it came from there in the first place.

    Like

    • I did see that tonight. Somehow, “mondaymonstermashup” appeared as a blog of mine, under the norrinradd domain. I’m not quite sure how it happened. Well, maybe I do. TypePad has just been a very disjointed experience for me. I try to export to my namesake– I can’t. Later, I have problems with signing in, I sign in using my VOX credentials, suddenly– I have access to the domain under my username. I go to see if I can import my MX3 group– I see what I first described.

      It’s just been messy, messy, messy, while WP has been comparatively smoother. But then I guess I understand the spaghetti graffiti, or whatever you called it.

      Like

      • I have had absolutely none of your troubles, so I can sympathize, but I can’t really empathize, except that I do know what that’s like in other realms, and it can feel pretty crazy. For me, signing into TypePad, probably the old guard site I’d never launched something at just meant using Vox log-in info, and setting everything up new. Then I added an email address and password, and that was that.

        My only problem here outside of my aesthetic and organizational displeasure is that while the posts transferred more quickly, they didn’t transfer completely or well. I have an ugly mess of an archive here, not really sure what to do with it.

        The only Vox process that didn’t work well for me was transferring to Flickr. I pretty much had to give up on that, but maybe I’ll try again next weekend or something.

        Like

      • Yeah. I have no problem understanding that our experiences were simply different, and that it had bearing on our sentiments. And, as I said, our content is different, so I think that had some effect.

        I’m sorry to hear the Flickr export didn’t go well. I got the gift of Pro from my father-in-law, so I have been busy rearranging my account to be a space for the entire family (or at least for Cimmy and Princess, who have taken pictures). Consequently I did a third export now that there’s no upload cap, and so I’ve got to weed out the duplicates and such. I guess that means my experience there was less than smooth, but… well, again, I’m guessing you had at least twice the amount of photos I had to import.

        Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

