the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Homemade custard-style yogurt

Leave a comment

(Adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking: You Can Make Yogurt In Your CrockPot, which was shared with me by an old schoolmate and friend.)

0000100002

I wasn't sure if it would work, but it seems to have turned out fine.

I talked to my mother beforehand and she said I could use powdered milk, with double the usual amount of powder.  We have a lot of powdered milk, and it's important to me to use what we have on hand.  She also recommended the Lucerne yogurt in the small cup size, which is available at the grocery store we do most of our shopping at.  So that's what I did– mixed up a quart per the directions, with 4 cups of water and 1 1/2 cups powdered milk.  I figured that was enough for the 2-quart slow cooker we have.  I added a cup of Lucerne yogurt (vanilla at the same price, but figured the flavor would be helpful).

Because that particular crockpot has only two settings, I wound up setting it to low and then turned it off after maybe an hour or two– but still wrapped it in a towel.  It must have carmelized the sugar somewhat because what I got was a rather custardy yogurt that was slightly like cottage cheese in texture.  I strained it through a pillowcase, as there was a bit of water left.  I'm sure something went right, as I could see there was more there than the amount of starter I used.

So far, Cimmy and Jak Jr. really like it, so I'll count it as a success.  Now, if I could only find Princess… we allowed her to play outside as long as she was within earshot.  If only she knew the deliciousness that awaits her (not to mention her mother is threatening to eat it if she won't)…!  Oh.  I see now.  She's just come in now.  She was waiting for the ice cream truck.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

