the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

I can fly!

7 Comments

Well, I guess it's time to finish the story about Mr. Greger, as the photo from that post made [life is good].

I visited him at his home, as he lives in the area.

We "talked shop" at first.

– He had some kites in the living room waiting to be taken and displayed at the Three Rivers Children's Museum.  Some he had made, and some his late wife had made.  The bumblebee and owl designs I noticed right away– especially as the latter appeared in a front page photo of the local newspaper.

– We discussed the CBC Kite Making Event (<– click for pictures).  The students had been studying kites in Pakistan, so he showed me a Pakistani-themed kite he made for the event.  Purplesque— you were right.  He mentioned about how flyers climb up on the roofs of buildings to fly.  The practice there (as well as much of Asia, actually) is kite fighting, and participants fly with two-person teams to heights greater than 500 feet.  They put glass into the line (he said some would crush soda bottles on train tracks) to cut competitors' lines.  Besides the risk of falling from buildings, the glass lines fall after breaking and lie along the streets.  Apparently the local government had to take drastic measures (motorcycle riders must wear helmets with neck pieces to avoid injury); and eventually banned kite fighting due to the number of injuries and deaths due to glass lines and falls alike.

– We discussed The World Kite Museum (Margaret Greger is in the Hall of Fame there) and the Washington State International Kite Festival, which are located and held in Long Beach, WA.  I have not been (and said so) but my in-laws have.  Based on what they told me, I said I would try to visit when it was less busy.

– I asked him about the books.  Yes, he really did take all the pictures.  He explained that their daughter was the one that made all the design instructions, and of course, Margaret authored the book.

– We spent about 10 minutes making a Conover Eddy diamond kite, which he apparently teaches for all his classes and events:

It's actually quite cheap to make, as it uses kitchen garbage bags, 1/8" doweling, small rubber bands, labels or masking tape, and crochet thread.  It'll be very nice for light breezy days.  We actually went out to the street for a test flight– although the wind was blowing so light as to be almost non-existent, we could see that it would be fine (despite some of my less than straight cuts).

I'll have Princess design this one.  I agree with Mr. Greger that she may warm back up to kite flying if she is involved in the process of making one… but getting to that part will be monumental in itself (she's really not keen right now).

I had to cut our meeting short, but after paying for the books, I went home and picked up the kids for a visit to the The Columbia River Exhibition of History, Science, and Technology (CREHST) museum— I had promised Princess we could go, especially as I knew more of their kites would be on display:

This picture is taken from the museum's website, displaying the new Science Lab permanent exhibit.  Although no specific mention is made of the kites, well… do you recognize the hexagonal one from this picture?  (<– Click on the link– you know you want to!  Yep, it's the same kite…!)

The visit to the museum was perfect for Princess but was too much for Jak Jr.

Was that succinct enough?  So much to describe, and that wasn't even the full day!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me- the username is still unique as of the current year. Be aware that the facet you see, is only a small part of the me that is me.

7 thoughts on “I can fly!

  1. That is awesome that you got to meet him!! I did not expect that. How wonderful. Sounds like he had some good suggestions. I am glad that Princess enjoyed the trip to the museum. Yes, I agree that museums can be difficult for the young ones (Jak Jr.).

    Like

  2. Oh, I almost forgot! Mr. Greger said that one of his friends had developed a camera that could be mounted on the string of a kite, and he had a receiver in his car set up so you could see what the kite was doing. I didn't ask how I could get in touch with that friend, but… well, there's a possibility, and maybe I could get some video for you that way 😉

    Like

  3. That is a great idea! Every time I read Mr. Greger, it reminds me of Mr. McGreger in the Peter Rabbit books (no disrespect to your friend, Mr. Greger). The camera sounds like a neat idea!

    Like

  4. That's just super neat. What a cool area of life you've stumbled into.

    Like

  5. Thanks for blogging about this. Such a great story.

    Like

  6. Pingback: WAW! Part 1 – Kite History and Kitemaking | the tao of jaklumen

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

