the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

5 Truths, 1 Lie

15 Comments

As seen at Skoolie‘s VOX.  She says:

So what is truth and what is fiction? What is the one lie?  and I want all of my friends to do this. It should be fun so even if you don’t comment here, do your own, I’d love to see it.
 
As some of you know, dear readers, I do enjoy memes and quizzes of this sort.  Its original form is “2 Truths, 1 Lie”, so if you wish to share only two and not five, that’s fine, but for curiosity’s sake, five helps that “getting to know you” objective so I do invite you to give five if you can.
 
1.  An apartment we lived in was quite an experience.  It was a fourplex on the corner of a busy street and a quiet one.  One of our downstairs neighbors just below us decided to get the bright idea of becoming a madam and running a brothel out of her unit.  So for a while at any given time we would have nowhere to park because of all the vehicles occupying that tiny little parking lot.  The booze would flow and the music was loud late into the night– one evening Cimmorene went down and knocked on the door asking them to turn it down.  She said the girl that answered the door appeared to be inebriated and to be sizing her up for a trick.  Another evening I came home with my daughter, who was all but 2 or 3 at the time, after keeping her busy for the day.  One of the girls was at the foot of the stairs with a john and so I played it cool.  Oddly enough, it hadn’t sunk in what she was doing although ironically my thought was “She looks like a whore!”  Probably best I didn’t immediately realize– looking back, what could I have said?  “Say bye bye to the nice whore, Princess”…?
 
2. The animator Don Bluth, who created movies such as An American Tail, The Secret of NIMH, and Anastasia is my father’s cousin.  His middle name is Virgil.
 
3. I’m also distantly related to Mitt Romney, former contender for the 2008 Republican presidential nomination and governor of Massachussetts.
 
4. After finishing up music studies at Central Washington University, I took my newfound guitar skills and started playing bass in an electropunk band.  We called ourselves “Cyberstank” and said we were influenced by Kraftwerk, Parliment/Funkadelic, and Spike Jones.  Our lead singer was a hacker chick that didn’t like our suggestions for costumes at first but then shocked us all with her own apparel consisting of wires, chips, several metal parts from various household appliances, and a revealing rubber catsuit.
 
5. My first year of college was at a church-affliated school where I got kicked out after just a few semesters.  One of my dormmates was a crazy Texan that one day insisted I needed a haircut after trimming it just a month ago, and so I had it shaved on the sides straight down to the skin with the help of another dormmate we all called “GQ” because of his pretty boy looks and preppy clothes.  Some dared me to stiffen the remaining hair into a mohawk but I wasn’t that gutsy.
6. [EDIT November 23, 2013- time to play again, and oops, need another item!]
Another apartment I lived in had some problems with crime.  There was a stabbing and two burglaries shortly after we moved in.  The children ran like wild dogs and would vandalize anything we had outside our unit if we dared to even scold them.
 
EDIT: To be fair to everyone, I’ll send the answers privately.  I will probably reveal all in another post, since I will only be messaging you as to the validity of your guess.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

15 thoughts on “5 Truths, 1 Lie

  1. I love the Don Bluth movies Thumbelina and The Swan Princess. Good soundtracks, casting, and humor. But honey, your text is black on black on my screen, and I had to highlight it to read it.

    Like

  2. Very intersting stuff. I'm going to pick number 4 as the lie.
    I know there was some girl down the way in our town home that was supposed to be running a whore house but I didn't know her, but I wonder if it is more common that we think
    Don Bluth – if that is true let him know that I still think that there are no cats in america and that the streets are pathed with cheese and that at a certain point in time a young girl wanted to be him lol.
    If Mitt Romney is a distan relative ask him how he can be so closed minded.

    Like

  3. I pick the Don Bluth one as the untruth.
    Don't know why….I just do. 🙂

    Like

  4. Yeah, I need to change the theme, it looks like. I have to do that too to read my own posts. Time for a change, I suppose.

    Like

  5. From here on out, just so it's not spoiled for anyone else that takes a look, I will send my answers to all of you privately.

    Like

  6. See my answer to Skoolie.

    Like

  7. I say you're a master story master and can spin a bunch of good yarns…hahahaha….I can't even guess.

    Like

  8. Thank you! I always figured Cimmy was better at that (at least as far as the old oral tradition). But then, I guess we do practice together.

    Like

  9. And practice makes perfect!

    Like

  10. Reblogged this on the tao of jaklumen and commented:

    I’ve linked up at a few blogs already, but I figured that I’d reblog for “C’mon, pay attention to this post” reasons and redundancy’s sake.

    Blogarockstar Rarasaur put the spotlight on this old meme, but she credits Jen & Tonic.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Half of the Truth « HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.

  12. I haven’t read any of the comments so as to make this fair….

    I’m going to guess the Mitt Romney thing is a lie.

    Like

  13. Pingback: Half of the Truth - Aussa Lorens

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

