the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Santa Unmasked.

1 Comment

For a proper introduction, you need to read What Do You Have To Say? – Do You Believe?

Quick excerpt for the lazy:

I patiently await the day when Cimmy and I decide to reveal the secret and I can say, “Yes, my daughter, *I* was Santa Claus.”

Cimmy and I actually talked about this before, and at some length.  Christmas Eve we decided to spring it– mostly because my daughter is pretty intellectually sharp for her age, and because she just wouldn’t go to sleep without seeing Santa (i.e. meet him)– neither my father-in-law nor a recorded message was going to provide a solution.

I knew Cimmy wasn’t going to like it too much– while we had discussed whether or not to deploy the myth before we had children, she decided we’d practice the tradition, and I of course, accepted.  But I could see that it wasn’t going to last too much longer.

So we dug out the picture and we explained that the person dressed as Santa was me– for quite literally, it was.

This is the picture in question.  Smarty-pants here later figured out too much about the Santa myth, so we used it to reveal the reality of it all.

This is the picture in question. Smarty-pants here later figured out too much about the Santa myth, so we used it to reveal the reality of it all.

It was then that I learned she already knew about the Tooth Fairy.  Apparently, Cimmy decided to spill the beans already on that one.  (I’m sure she will comment with what she is telling me right now, so you all understand where she’s coming from.)

While I didn’t utter the quote, I couldn’t help but feel all fuzzy inside when I explained to her that for a time, I was the only Santa she’d sit for.  What a wonderful little girl.  She accepted it all with grace and love, and she understands not to spoil the magic for others.  She doesn’t need magic, though– I was so pleased to let her know that Santa is another expression of our love for her.

[EDIT December 2nd, 2014: When I talked with her recently, she said she realized it was me, because something was different.  Clever girl.]

Author: jaklumen

Wherever you see "jaklumen", that's me. The username is still unique as of 2016, so it's just me, and only me. It's the real me, because I'm bad at faking otherwise.

One thought on “Santa Unmasked.

  1. This is such a great way to handle this. For some kids it can be so traumatic, but it sounds like you've got a clever little one on your hands. 🙂

    Like

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

