This was inspired in part by 4 Year End Blog Post Ideas.

I’ve always been rather lackadaisical about my blog. I want it to be fun, not stressful, and paradoxically, some lingering perfectionism still holds me back from writing more. It’s a bit intimidating, the elaborate things some do with their blogs.

Mostly, though, I just want a little more feedback, without inviting controversy or extremism. Things are tough enough with the chronic pain, lingering trauma, etc.

But I will speak to what has got people around me buzzing quite a bit. The first, of course, was the Sandy Hook tragedy… I remember hearing it from people in an online game, before I really had a chance to read about it in the news. People I know have very differing opinions about the implications, and I will leave it at that. I am not that interested in religious or political arguments. What I could see was a common thread of grief and outrage over innocent children dying over something they had nothing to do with.

The other is the notion that the Mayan calendar is ending tomorrow. It is generally the last thing on my mind; ancient traditions of the winter solstice, at least in the Old World, were in anticipation of the sun returning. After reading a book called 1491, I suspect that much of the misunderstandings concerning the ancient people of the Americas exclude a similar understanding: that while one world might end, another will begin anew. So much discussion I’ve heard leaves that out.

Julie and JonathanI’d much rather think that my parents will be married for 40 years tomorrow. I’m empathetically biased, after all; 14 years ago on the 12th, I took myself a winter bride, and she took me for her husband. I know that we will endure regardless of any world-ending stuff… we already have.

Two days more from tomorrow, it will be my father’s birthday. Two days more from that, it will be Christmas. I am not concerned over the silly debates such as the “war on Christmas“. I know that other traditions, such as Yule and Saturnalia, have mingled into the tradition, or perhaps it should be better said that it was the other way around. I would rather be glad of the sentiments, good cheer, and good will. That is what is important to me.

Thanksgiving with Cimmy's side of the family

Thanksgiving with Cimmy’s side of the family

I wrote Not A One of Us Did Black Thanksgiving Friday and QotW: Dec 3-8 (for the Vox Diaspora) because I like to have celebrations be meaningful, and have deep purpose. I found out that the early Christmas rush started in the WWII years, as the government reminded those in the States to send packages early so they would arrive in time to the troops in Europe. Retailers joined in with this reminder and it has stuck ever since, but more as a push to get shoppers to spend and put their revenues “back in the black” (balance back to assets, hence the term “Black Friday“) and “out of the red” (out of debt). I don’t have a problem with retailers making profit, but I do mind when they are distracting me from my meaningful celebration.

To sum up, I will shed some tears for the passing of young, innocent children, but I will go on, and live in spite of the senselessness and tragedy. I will continue to live my life whether the world is ending or beginning. I will celebrate that which is good, mourn that which is ugly, and oppose that which is evil. I invite others to join me but I will not wail or gnash my teeth much if they do not. That is not the purpose of my life, or my celebration.

[There may be a future post summarizing more my year in review, but I think it best to stop here.]

Comments
  1. timethief says:

    Hi there,
    You accepted my thinly veiled challenge! How cool is that? I’m very happy that I met you and thank you for your friendship. Your last two sentences resonate for me.

    May your Christmas be merry and bright, and may your New Year exceed all expectations.

  2. robpixaday says:

    Very moving words…

Walk with me, talk with me. Leave a reply

